Indigenous counted in census 2010..!!

5 01 2010

I usually stop by the Indian Human Resource Center in San Diego on Wednesdays to practice singing peyote songs with a few other native folks from San Diego and even a brother all the way from LA..!

I always take a look at all of the fliers that they have posted in the office and on the table.  Recently I have noticed they have some great posters for the Census 2010 encouraging Natives to check “Native Only”.  I’m guessing this is an effort to increase the count of native people in the U.S.?

I plan on picking “Native Only” because I identify more with being native then with “White”.  (hispanics are technically not a racial category, so you have to pick White and then your ethnic subcategory).  However, Native is considered a racial category (not confirmed, if anyone has more info on this let me know), so since I identify more with being Native than White that’s what I’m checking off this year.  Regardless if I’m part of a recognized tribe or not..!!  Technically, Chicanos/as are not a federally recognized tribe despite the efforts of Tupac Enrique and others at the United Nations.

I bring all of this up because a good friend of mine just sent me an interesting article on YahooNews pertaining to the indigenous people from Mexico that have steadily increased in numbers in the U.S.  Indigenous people have always migrated north, but more and more people have made their presence known by maintaining their ties to communities back home.  Transnationalism, is what academics call it, but basically it means that they create mini-communities in the U.S. that is made of people from their pueblos back home.  This has happened here in San Diego, mainly in Linda Vista where there is a significant community of Mayans from Oaxaca.

I’m glad to hear the Mixtecos, Mayas y other nations are making their voices heard by being counted as indigenous people.  Adelante..!!

Actions

Information

One response

4 03 2010
Mexicans and Chicanos….Indigenous? « Native Journey

[…] Rodriguez wrote for New American Media to learn more.  Also see the earlier post on my blog on the census counting native […]

Leave a Reply

