Men’s Gathering

13 09 2009

I just returned from the 11th annual Izcalli Hombres con Palabra Men’s Gathering and I must say it was an incredible weekend.  I don’t think I could fit the entire experience here on this little posting on this blog, but I will say something.

It was amazing to see the amount of brotherhood that took place over the weekend.  So many brown faces sitting in a circle in solidarity and in peace.  It is truly amazing that we could get so many young people together, when every non-profit agency that I have ever worked for has always had a hard time getting young men of color to show up to anything.

I don’t think the problem is with the youth, I think it is a societal problem and most non-profits reflect the problems that they are trying to eradicate.  Izcalli on the other hand has taken a different approach, that I won’t get into here.

I will just say that it takes a lot of work, dedication and trust.  To all my spiritual brothers that attended this weekends mens gathering, thank you!  Thank you for all that you gave this weekend and for all that you will continue to give for years to come.

I am truly blessed to have been able to participate in two spiritual gatherings two weekends in a row.  Looking forward to seeing all the relatives this sunday for a run.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

