Navajo Nation Visit

24 03 2009

Wow, so I was MIA for about two weeks, but it was well worth it.  I had a chance to see some wonderful things these last few weeks and saw some great friends.  For now I will just mention some about my visit to Arizona.  A companion and I drove out to Arizona to the heart of the Navajo Nation.  It was a 12 hour drive from San Diego, but it wasn’t that bad of a drive.

We arrived pretty late and spent the next few days taking in the scenery.  The first place we visited was Canyon de Chelly. (spelled various ways)

Deep Concentration

Deep Concentration

This place is amazin…!!! you have to see it in person to really appreciate it.  Now I know why the Navajo were so devasted to have to leave their sacred land during the forced migration to Fort Sumner (Bosque Redondo) see my book review.

I was also privaleged enough to see a Navajo Medicine man who was able to help me out with some stuff.  It was something that I will always remember being inside that traditional Hogaan.

Traditional Navajo Hogaan

Traditional Navajo Hogaan

I can’t wait to go back there one day and pay a visit to this traditional land of the Navajo.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

